Follow Footymad on Facebook Follow Footymad on Twitter RSS feed

Grimsby Town's results from season 1997/1998

Results of games featuring Grimsby Town during the season

Match result analysis
Venue Played Won Drawn Lost For Against
Home 33 19 9 5 53 18
Away 33 12 10 11 36 34
Neutral 2 2 0 0 3 1
Total 68 33 19 16 92 53
Click here to view Grimsby Town's complete league history View Grimsby Town's results from other seasons
Date Opponents V Type Res/KO Venue Att View options
Sat 09 Aug 1997 BRISTOL CITY H League D 1-1 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Tue 12 Aug 1997 Oldham Athletic A League Cup L 0-1 Boundary Park 5,656   Stats  
Sat 16 Aug 1997 Plymouth Argyle A League D 2-2 Home Park     Stats Table
Sat 23 Aug 1997 WREXHAM H League D 0-0 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Tue 26 Aug 1997 OLDHAM ATHLETIC H League Cup W 5-0 Blundell Park 5,078   Stats  
Grimsby Town won 5-1 on aggregate
Sat 30 Aug 1997 Brentford A League L 1-3 Griffin Park     Stats Table
Tue 02 Sep 1997 Preston North End A League L 0-2 Deepdale     Stats Table
Tue 09 Sep 1997 YORK CITY H League D 0-0 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 13 Sep 1997 Fulham A League W 2-0 Craven Cottage     Stats Table
Wed 17 Sep 1997 SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY H League Cup W 2-0 Blundell Park 6,429   Stats  
Sat 20 Sep 1997 MILLWALL H League L 0-1 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 27 Sep 1997 AFC Bournemouth A League W 1-0 Dean Court     Stats Table
Wed 01 Oct 1997 Sheffield Wednesday A League Cup L 2-3 Hillsborough 11,120   Stats  
Grimsby Town won 4-3 on aggregate
Sat 04 Oct 1997 WIGAN ATHLETIC H League W 2-1 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 11 Oct 1997 NORTHAMPTON TOWN H League W 1-0 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Tue 14 Oct 1997 LEICESTER CITY H League Cup W 3-1 Blundell Park 7,738   Stats  
Sat 18 Oct 1997 Blackpool A League D 2-2 Bloomfield Road     Stats Table
Tue 21 Oct 1997 Oldham Athletic A League L 0-2 Boundary Park     Stats Table
Sat 25 Oct 1997 WATFORD H League L 0-1 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 01 Nov 1997 SOUTHEND UNITED H League W 5-1 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Tue 04 Nov 1997 Walsall A League D 0-0 Bescot Stadium     Stats Table
Sat 08 Nov 1997 Chesterfield A League L 0-1 Saltergate     Stats Table
Sat 15 Nov 1997 Shrewsbury Town A F.A. Cup D 1-1 Gay Meadow 3,193   Stats  
Tue 18 Nov 1997 Liverpool A League Cup L 0-3 Anfield 28,515   Stats  
Sat 22 Nov 1997 BURNLEY H League W 4-1 Blundell Park 4,829   Stats Table
Tue 25 Nov 1997 SHREWSBURY TOWN H F.A. Cup W 4-0 Blundell Park 3,242   Stats  
Sat 29 Nov 1997 Gillingham A League W 2-0 Priestfield     Stats Table
Tue 02 Dec 1997 WYCOMBE WANDERERS H League D 0-0 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 06 Dec 1997 CHESTERFIELD H F.A. Cup D 2-2 Blundell Park 4,762   Stats  
Tue 09 Dec 1997 Chesterfield A (Assc.Mmbrs.) W 1-0 Saltergate 1,128   Stats  
Fri 12 Dec 1997 Bristol Rovers A League W 4-0 Memorial Stadium     Stats Table
Tue 16 Dec 1997 Chesterfield A F.A. Cup W 2-0 Saltergate 4,553   Stats  
Sat 20 Dec 1997 CARLISLE UNITED H League W 1-0 Blundell Park 6,222   Stats Table
Fri 26 Dec 1997 York City A League D 0-0 Bootham Crescent     Stats Table
Sun 28 Dec 1997 PRESTON NORTH END H League W 3-1 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 03 Jan 1998 NORWICH CITY H F.A. Cup W 3-0 Blundell Park 8,161   Stats  
Tue 06 Jan 1998 HULL CITY H (Assc.Mmbrs.) W 1-0 Blundell Park 4,778   Stats  
Sat 10 Jan 1998 Bristol City A League L 1-4 Ashton Gate     Stats Table
Sat 17 Jan 1998 BRENTFORD H League W 4-0 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 24 Jan 1998 Leeds United A F.A. Cup L 0-2 Elland Road 29,598   Stats  
Tue 27 Jan 1998 Scunthorpe United A (Assc.Mmbrs.) W 2-0 Glanford Park 4,596   Stats  
Sat 31 Jan 1998 FULHAM H League D 1-1 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 07 Feb 1998 Millwall A League W 1-0 The Den     Stats Table
Sat 14 Feb 1998 Wigan Athletic A League W 2-0 Springfield Park     Stats Table
Tue 17 Feb 1998 BLACKPOOL H (Assc.Mmbrs.) W 1-0 Blundell Park 8,027   Stats  
Sat 21 Feb 1998 AFC BOURNEMOUTH H League W 2-1 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Tue 24 Feb 1998 BLACKPOOL H League W 1-0 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 28 Feb 1998 Northampton Town A League L 1-2 Sixfields Stadium     Stats Table
Tue 03 Mar 1998 CHESTERFIELD H League D 0-0 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 07 Mar 1998 Southend United A League W 1-0 Roots Hall     Stats Table
Tue 10 Mar 1998 BURNLEY H (Assc.Mmbrs.) D 1-1 Blundell Park 6,064   Stats  
Sat 14 Mar 1998 WALSALL H League W 3-0 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Tue 17 Mar 1998 Burnley A (Assc.Mmbrs.) W 2-0 Turf Moor 10,257   Stats  
Grimsby Town won 3-1 on aggregate
Sat 21 Mar 1998 Luton Town A League D 2-2 Kenilworth Road     Stats Table
Tue 24 Mar 1998 PLYMOUTH ARGYLE H League W 1-0 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 28 Mar 1998 Burnley A League L 1-2 Turf Moor 8,256   Stats Table
Tue 31 Mar 1998 Wrexham A League D 0-0 Racecourse Ground     Stats Table
Sat 04 Apr 1998 GILLINGHAM H League D 0-0 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Tue 07 Apr 1998 LUTON TOWN H League L 0-1 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Fri 10 Apr 1998 Wycombe Wanderers A League D 1-1 Adams Park     Stats Table
Mon 13 Apr 1998 BRISTOL ROVERS H League L 1-2 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sun 19 Apr 1998 AFC Bournemouth Neu (Assc.Mmbrs.) W 2-1   62,432   Stats  
at Wembley, after extra time, 90 minutes 1-1, Grimsby Town won on golden goal rule
Tue 21 Apr 1998 Carlisle United A League W 1-0 Brunton Park 3,956   Stats Table
Sat 25 Apr 1998 Watford A League D 0-0 Vicarage Road     Stats Table
Sat 02 May 1998 OLDHAM ATHLETIC H League L 0-2 Blundell Park     Stats Table
Sat 09 May 1998 Fulham A FL P/O Lvl3 D 1-1 Craven Cottage 13,954   Stats  
Wed 13 May 1998 FULHAM H FL P/O Lvl3 W 1-0 Blundell Park 8,689   Stats  
Grimsby Town won 2-1 on aggregate
Sun 24 May 1998 Northampton Town Neu FL P/O Lvl3 W 1-0 Wembley (old) 62,988   Stats  
played at Wembley